Orquesta Típica Sans Souci

he Orquesta Típica Sans Souci was created, around the late 1999, with the precise objective of rescuing, for the present public, the musical style of the tango orchestras led by Miguel Caló and Osmar Maderna.

In its line-up, the orchestra follows the classic standards of the tango orchestras in the forties: four bandoneons, four violins, contrabass, piano and vocalist. As for the orchestrations, because the original material was unavailable in written form, the musicians have transcribed the scores directly from the recordings by maestros Caló and Maderna, having in mind the arrangements devised by the great pianist.

The orchestra tries to recreate, as close as possible, the original forms of one of the purest and as well successful tango styles born in the renowned forties.

The Orquesta Típica Sans Souci has appeared in different venues in our country, including the Teatro Municipal General San Martín of the City of Buenos Aires, the Auditorium of the Facultad de Agronomía de la Universidad de Buenos Aires, the Teatro Roma of Avellaneda, El Club del Vino and at several cycles at the Foro Gandhi.

Furthermore this orchestra has performed at the fourth release of the Festival de Tango de Buenos Aires in 2002 and as well the following year. Periodically it performs at various dancehalls and television programs. It recorded its first compact disc in April 2003 and toured Europe in March and April, and played at the Primer Festival Internacional de Tango of Lisbon, Portugal.

Members (2003)
Violins: Leonardo Ferreyra, Diego Tejedor, Guillermo Ferreyra, Sophie Lussi
Bandonions: Eduardo Miceli, Felipe Ricciardi, Raúl Salvetti, Eleonora Ferreyra
Piano: Leonardo Fernández
Bass: Mariano Benedé
Singer: Walter Laborde