Marcelo Nisinman

Real name: Nisinman, Marcelo
Bandoneonist, composer and arranger
(21 December 1970 - )
Place of birth:
Buenos Aires Argentina
Laureano Fernández

e was born in the neighborhood of Caballito. His parents are Samuel Tito Nisinman and Esther Echenbaum Jonisz.

Marcelo Nisinman studied bandoneon with Julio Pane and composition with Guillermo Graetzer in Buenos Aires and Detlev Müller-Siemens in Basel.

In 1987 Marcelo wrote a letter to Astor Piazzolla and they met in Punta del Este where Astor liked and encouraged Marcelo’s playing. Thereafter they would meet on more than one occasion and also Astor visited the Nisimans several times.

When in 1989 Piazzolla put together a new aggregation that included a second bandoneon, Julio Pane was summoned to join that sextet under recommendation by Leopoldo Federico. Due to the close relationship that Piazzolla had with the Nisinmans, the rehearsals of the sextet took place at their home where there was a very good piano. Another friend of the family was the talented Osvaldo Tarantino. It is worthwhile mentioning that Marcelo has a sister, Karina, who is music therapist.

He has performed as a soloist with orchestras and at festivals around the world with Gidon Kremer, Britten Sinfonia, Gary Burton, Fernando Suárez Paz, Martha Argerich, Ute Lemper, Assad Brothers, and the Philadelphia Orchestra conducted by Charles Dutoit. He has also appeared as a soloist with the WDR Big Band under Vince Mendoza, the Arpeggione Chamber Orchestra, Orchestre National des Pays de La Loire conducted by John Axelrod, The Stockholm Symphonic Winds and the Philharmonic Orchestra of Belgrad, amongst others.

He has performed as bandoneonist with a long list of tango legends, such as singers Roberto Goyeneche, Libertad Lamarque, Susana Rinaldi, Amelita Baltar, and the pianists Osvaldo Berlingieri and Osvaldo Tarantino.

His compositions are diverse and original rooted in the Buenos Aires music, Nisinman also takes inspiration from other forms and techniques creating a personal style that breaks the traditions and rules of the Música porteña (Music of Buenos Aires city). He developed a particular tango style, combining traditional elements with colorful distortions based on atonality and contemporary music.

He has written music for a wide range of groups, from symphony orchestra to string quartet and in 2004 he wrote his first chamber opera Señor Retorcimientos which was premiered in Basel.

He appeared at different festivals either as composer or as a performer like the Oxford Chamber Music Festival in 2008, the Kuhmo Chamber Music Festival (Finland), Zeitkunst Festival (Berlin and Paris), the Sonoro Festival (Bucharest), the Boswil Festival (Switzerland), the Vogler String Quartet (Germany and Ireland), the Consonances (St Nazaire- France) and with Martha Argerich and Friends at the 2013 Ravenna Music Festival.

During 2006 Nisinman composed a number of vocal works including “Desvíos”, with a text by Carlos Trafic (released on Acqua Records, 2009) and his new version of María de Buenos Aires (Acqua Records 2010).

In 2009, together with the clarinetist Chen Halevi he formed his own quartet Tango Factory; the group brings together four very different musicians to explore tango, playing works by Nisinman and other composers.

His work, “Dark Blue Tango” was premiered in 2012 with the National Symphony Orchestra of Argentina directed by Facundo Agudin featuring Nisinman on bandoneon.