Silvina Paulela

Real name: Paulela, Roxana Silvina
Pianist, leader, composer and arranger
(25 October 1969 - )
Place of birth:
Buenos Aires Argentina

he began her piano studies at age seven at the Conservatorio Nacional de Música Carlos López Buchardo. She furthered her studies with Martha Bongiorno and Susana Agrest. She studied chamber music with Lyrjko Spiller and Alberto Lysy. She also studied viola and violin with Darío Legname, disciple of Tomás Tichauer. She studied orchestra conduction with Mario Benzecry and composition with Alicia Terzián.

In the classical music field she joined a large number of groups as pianist and played concerts and appeared at contests as soloist. As violist she played at several symphonic orchestras. Now she is studying bandoneon.

As tango pianist she made her debut in 1998 with her group Sexteto Arrabal, which later changed its name to Orquesta Contratiempo. With that aggregation she released two compact discs: “Arrabaleando” (2002) and “Locura tanguera” (2007), both with liner notes by the record collector and researcher Oscar del Priore.

With her group she made numerous tours of Europe and Canada. She appeared at prestigious venues in Buenos Aires and in the interior of the country. Her orchestra was declared as of Interés Cultural by the Legislatura Porteña in 2007.

Her orchestra is recognized by its Decarean style with danceable charts which favor its appearance at dancehalls and to play at shows with dancers.

In 2009 she formed the Silvina Paulela Cuarteto Tango, another more traditional group with which she appears besides the Orquesta Contratiempo.

Silvina has a busy schedule as educator. In May 2011 she was invited to teach instrumentalists about “Estilos en el tango” at the Musikhögskolan, Lunds Universitet Malmö, Sweden, and at the Music Academy of Estonia. Furthermore, she writes arrangements for several foreign orchestras.

Since 2010 she is producer of the Tango Festival “Sentimiento Tanguero del Barrio de Mataderos“. She also conducts and produces a radio program on Radio Interactiva, devoted to spreading tango.

As composer, her outstanding numbers are: the tangos: "Abrumado", "El Primero (A Don Osvaldo Pugliese)", "Arrabaleando"; the waltzes "Encadenado a ti", "Regreso en serenata", with words by Norma Montenegro; the zamba "La estrella", and the milonga "Negro y nácar", dedicated to the bandoneonist Gabriel Clausi.