Rafael Fracassi

Real name: Fracassi, Rafael
Trumpetist, pianist, leader and composer
(22 April 1866 - 19 January 1952)
Place of birth:
Limosano (Campobasso) Italy

e was born in Limosano, province of Campobasso (Italy), where he studied harmony and piano playing. He belonged to a family of prestigious musicians. His father was professor of piano and violin.

He arrived in our country when he was a child with his family. At age seventeen he won by competition the position of first brass in the Buenos Aires band.

Thereafter he settled in the city of Córdoba where he was the conductor of the band of that city for over 30 years. It was regarded as the best band in the country and even it had eighty players on some occasions. Furthermore, he was music teacher in the Escuela Normal of Córdoba.

The following numbers of his stand out: the symphonic poem “La Tempestad”, the funereal march “A mi padre [b]”, the “Himno a la Escuela” which was awarded the First Prize at the South American Contest in 1910, the zarzuelas “Vida Nueva” and “Los Criollos”; the marches “Alpinos de Córdoba”, “General Richieri”, “Makallé”, “Sáenz Peña”, “Los Bomberos”; the waltzes: “Griselda”, “A orillas del Río Primero”, “Italia” and “Victoria Regia”. He also composed gavottes, nocturnes, mazurkas, etc.

His early tangos date back to 1907, among them: “Qué pimpollo”, “Don Justo”, “Alma argentina”, “Chantecler” and “Así soy yo”, “Bésame y adelante...”, “De Pinedo”, “El cariño de mis primos”, “El Pompón”, “El tango de los besos”, “Flor de abrojo”, “Musolino”, “No puedo más”, “Qué ricos esos besos”, “Vida mía [b]”.

He passed away in Córdoba city.