La Biyuya

Real name:
(n/d - )
Place of birth:
Pablo Vaira (electric bass)
Pablo Dichiera (guitar)
Pablo Marasco (flute)
Marina Baigorria (vocals)
Eduardo Lastra (percussion)

his group was formed as an instrumental trio in 1998. In 2001 it changed to a quartet with its present personnel, in a aesthetical position that attempts a modern view of classic tango.

With a long list of live appearances, at different places of the country, at different spaces and venues, the quartet concentrates on all kinds of audiences.

Despite its short tenure they have already cut three discs, “Tango en Bruto”, in 2000), with classic numbers of the genre, “El cuento de que Dios es argentino”, published in 2003, with a less orthodox proposal and “Buenosairece”, in 2007, in which they further their attitude of renewal.

From this brand new material we may highlight, “Buenosairece”, by Marina Baigorria, the milonga “Pena mulata” and a heartfelt rendition of “Desencuentro”.

Among the curiosities of their latest recording is the rough rendering of “El tiempo no para” written by the Brazilian Cazuza, and “Para quién canto yo entonces”, with lyrics by Charly García and music by La Biyuya.

In a note published by Telam, the guitarist Pablo Dichiera explains the reason for this search: «We included them because we don’t want to set apart rock from tango, because both genres are part of popular music. Our idea is meant to work as a kind of channel between them both».

Most of its members studied at the Escuela de Música Popular de Avellaneda.